a woman standing in front of a bulleting board
VCLD Special Educator of the Year 2023, Michele Crane, Nottoway County
  • Plaque
  • Recognition during the VCLD symposium
  • Complimentary VCLD Symposium Registration
  • Complimentary VCLD and CLD membership ($150 value)
  • Reimbursable expenses to attend the CLD conference – up to $500
  • Interview & Bio featured on the VCLD website 
  • Certificate 
  • Complimentary CLD conference registration


  • Nominee must be fully licensed and teach students with learning disabilities
  • The Nominee must have been teaching for a minimum of 5 years
  • The Nominee should have
    • Shown leadership in improving current education programs and service delivery methods
    • Developed innovative methods resulting in increased success for children, adolescents, or adults with learning disabilities
    • Served as an advocate for students with learning disabilities and their families
  • Award recipients are expected to
    • Attend the Council for Learning Disabilities (CLD) conference, if possible (Sponsored by VCLD)
    • Briefly speak at CLD conference
    • Complete reimbursement forms

How to Nominate a Special Educator

  • Complete and submit the nomination form prior to the end date for nominations (Click the blue “Nominate a Special Educator Button”
  • Attach to the nomination form a minimum of 1 letter of support for the Nominee from someone who can provide evidence of teaching ability and contribution to the profession, such as:
    • Colleagues
    • Supervisors/administrators
    • Others from the education community
    • Students and/or their families

For more information about the Special Educator of the Year Award

Contact Lenette Hillian, Honors Chairperson [email protected]

2021 VCLD Special Educator of the Year: Lenette Hillian
picture of a man standing at a white board.
2020 VCLD Special Educator of the Year Rory Duffield
woman at a podium giving a speech
2019 VCLD Special Educator of the Year: Jessica Draper, Galax Elementary School
2018 VCLD Special Educator of the Year: Janice Converse